Academic Colleges

Our Academic



Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources

Dean’s Office: 103 Agricultural Hall
The College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources offers 30 majors and a pre-professional program that prepare students for careers in everything from animals to plants, soil to climate, golf to business, mechanization to leadership, and food to forensic science. College scholarships are widely available. The college is part of the Institute of Agriculture and Natural Resources.


Dean’s Office: 210 Architecture Hall
The College of Architecture brings together an array of disciplines to address real problems and difficult challenges with innovative and collaborative action. United by a commitment to the transformative power of planning and design, students and faculty come together in a creative environment integrating studio-based teaching, rigorous design-research and creative output, and community-focused engagement. By merging disciplinary theory and professional practice we innovate, add value and give form to all aspects of the designed environment.

Arts and Sciences

Dean’s Office: 1223 Oldfather Hall
The College of Arts and Sciences educates UNL students in humanities and social and natural sciences. We have over 400 faculty, many of whom have been recognized internationally for their expertise, who are dedicated to teaching, researching and serving. With more than 60 major and minor programs, our comprehensive liberal arts education gives our students the ability to discover their passions, develop rewarding careers, and make a difference.

Business Administration

Dean’s Office: 214 CBA
The College of Business Administration educates more than 4,000 future business leaders to Start Something with its 10 undergraduate majors, seven master’s programs and Ph.D. programs. Established in 1913, it is the only doctorate-granting business college in Nebraska. Opening in 2017, the new 240,000 sq. ft. building at 14th and Vine Streets will feature interactive learning in state-of-the-art classrooms, one-stop student support services and cutting-edge technology.

Education and Human Sciences

Dean’s Office: 233 Mabel Lee Hall
The College of Education and Human Sciences is a one-of-a-kind college in Nebraska—and one of only a handful of colleges in the country—that combines the fields of teacher education; educational psychology; individual and family development; consumer sciences; counseling; educational leadership and administration; nutrition and health; special education; communication disorders; and textiles, merchandising and fashion design into a single college aimed at enhancing people’s lives.


Dean’s Office: 114 Othmer Hall
As the only College of Engineering in Nebraska, we strive to help students become “complete engineers,” demonstrating the necessary technical skills and knowledge as well as how to lead and work in diverse team environments. We offer numerous undergraduate and graduate programs in Lincoln and Omaha, providing our students opportunities for job experiences, research, networking, internships/coops, and hands-on involvement.

Hixson-Lied College of Fine and Performing Arts

Dean’s Office: 102 Woods Art Building
The Hixson-Lied College of Fine and Performing Arts was established in 1993 and includes programs in art, art history, music, music education, dance, theatre, and film and new media. The college is named in honor of Christina Hixson and the Lied Foundation Trust, which endowed the college in 2000. Our students and faculty perform, exhibit and study nationally and internationally, and we present more than 350 arts events on campus each year. Learn more at or #unlarts.

Journalism and Mass Communications

Dean’s Office: 200 Centennial Mall North, 147 Andersen Hall
Start here. Go anywhere. The College of Journalism and Mass Communications is a nationally recognized, award-winning college, where more than 1,000 undergraduate and graduate students have hands-on experiences from day one in advertising, broadcasting, journalism, and public relations, guided by a top-notch faculty. The CoJMC offers a robust education abroad program, a student ad agency, a statewide news service, a sports communications program and many other innovative learning opportunities.

College of Law

Dean’s Office: 103 McCollum Hall
The University of Nebraska College of Law was established in 1891 and is located on UNL’s East Campus. Students learned from internationally recognized teachers and scholars, gain hands-on experience in one of four practical clinics, and graduate with some of the lowest debt in the country. The College of Law is home to several legal education programs, including the Space, Cyber, and Telecommunications Law program—the only program of its kind taught in English.